Art Update: February 2023

Still working on this painting. Schooner ship at sea on the Atlantic off Maine's Coast Why? Something about it bothered me. I’d think about. I needed to look at it again. I’d sit staring at it. I know where my issues are in painting and try to overcome them. Like writing. After lots of keystrokes, the “Ah. Now I have it working like it should… ” moment arrives. Not so fast, dear writer. Have you left it for a bit, before re-reading it. Your comment should be “Ah. Now let’s give it a break; read it in a couple of weeks to see if it’s “…working like it should.” So, I removed the frame and propped the painting back on the easel… for days. Okay, now what are you going to do? “Pick up your brush and start blocking stuff out.” So I did. It felt both scary and good. I wanted the painting to be better. For me. The creator. Limiting the palette to few colors, I focused on sky and water. Most of my work comes from sketches and photos captured on site, then I attend to my idea of what story/meaning could the viewer impart to the chosen subject and its surroundings? The titles chosen by me, the creator, act as a catalyst for the viewer, and gives it their interpretation of what and why. I have another empty spot on my studio wall. Working on another painting which will soon fill that spot.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.